Indiana State students bring home 24 awards.jpg

State students won 24 awards from the Indiana Collegiate Press Association (ICPA) for work published in the Indiana Statesman and The Sycamore yearbook.

The annual convention was held on April 7 at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

The Indiana Statesman won 14 awards, 10 of which were for advertising.

The Statesman won second place for Advertising Publication of the Year.

"I am thrilled that the Indiana Statesman came in second place overall in the ICPA advertising competition. This is an extremely competitive category, which includes 19 newspapers and other publications, so placing second is a significant accomplishment," student publications director Martha Milner said.

Becca McGregor won first place for Best Ad Layout, second place for Most Creative Use of Ad Copy, and third place for Best Ad Design in a Special Section and Best Use of Photography or Graphic Art.

Jessica Melchi and Kylee Bledsoe won second for Best Rate Card. Melchi also won third for Best House Ad and Best Full Color House Ad. Bledsoe won third for Best Electronic Display Ad and Best B&W House Ad.

Four of the Statesman's awards were in the editorial category.

The Statesman staff won third in Best Themed Issue. The Statesman design staff won second and third for Best Sports Page and third for Best Feature Page.

The Sycamore yearbook won 12 awards.

The Sycamore staff won first for Best Special Section and second for the overall competition.

Ashley Gibbons won second for Best Sports Spread and Best Feature Photography and third for Best News Photography and Best Sports Photography.

Gibbons and Esther Perisho won third for Best Sports Spread. Perisho also won second for Best Execution of Theme. Perisho and Nayasia Hubbert won second for Best Overall Design.

Hubbert, Gibbons and Marissa Wehner won second for Best Organizations Spread, and Hubbert and Jon Garcia won third for Best Academics Spread.

Emma Walker and Melanie Stone won third for Best Student Life Spread.

"The annual ICPA Convention is an important event for our students to attend. In addition to the awards ceremony, students attend sessions designed to help them improve their skills," Milner said.

ICPA was founded in Terre Haute in 1957 to promote cooperation between Indiana's collegiate journalists and publications. ICPA now has more than 40 member publications.